SA Waveski Champs 2019 – Now and Then.

The SA Waveski Champs were held at Jongensfontein, South Africa, over the weekend of the 20th September 2019 and the results are listed below. The first-ever Waveski Champs were held in 1976 in conjunction with the Gunston 500 Surf Contest at Nahoon Reed, East London, in monstrous surf
which pounded surfers and waveski surfers alike. The surf side of the event had surfers from around the world participating, with the legendary Thompsons and Jonathan Paarman reaching the finals in the Men's. The Waveski final had Robbie Henstra, Jack James and Johan Loots take the top three positions in giant surf. Notable about the final were the differences in craft being used, with James in a surfyak, a sit-in ski which required supreme rolling skills and Loots on a modern sit-on waveski, the Skiwee, from the famous Corner Surfshop in Muizenberg where Peter Wright was at the helm of things [and still is]. This contest set the stage for future events where legendary waveski surfers like Kola le Roux, Paddy Smith, Sean McGuire and the MacCleods on the Men's side and Tracey Sassen on the Women's side featured and from whose ranks came the first World Champions in the sport. It also contributed to waveski and kayak designs to come. The most recent results are as
1st Mike Wessels WP
2nd Bruce Viaene Border
3rd Ryan Griffith KZN
4th Steph LeRoux WP
Senior Men:
1st Bruce Viaene Border
2nd Duran Martin KZN
3rd Mike Wessels WP
4th Ryan Griffith KZN
Ladies Final:
1st Heleen Rossouw WP
2nd Sandra Pienaar EC
3rd Natalie Newman WP
1st Marcus Esterhuyse WP
2nd Francois Roesstorff Border
1st Neal Stephenson WP
2nd Schalk Van Wyk WP
3rd Sheldon Schroeder KZN
4th Timothy Redelinghuys Border
Grand Masters:
1st Rory Taylor WP
2nd Steph LeRoux WP
3rd Doug Copeland Border
4th Darren Bunker WP
1st Ken Clements WP
2nd Jeremy Pienaar EC
3rd Dave Griffith KZN
4th Darryl Moodie KZN

PaddleYak Kayaks SA salute the participants and the original pathfinders who contributed so much to the development of this fine outdoor and eco-friendly sport.